Welcome to North Lancing Primary School

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 is the legal term for the two years of schooling in maintained schools in England and Wales normally known as Year 1 and Year 2, when pupils are aged between 5 and 7.  In Key Stage 1 pupils are taught compulsary national curriculum subjects.  These are:

  • English
  • Maths
  • Science
  • Design Technology
  • History
  • Geography
  • Art and design
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE), including swimming
  • Computing

Schools must also provide religious education, but you may opt for your child to withdraw from these lessons.

At North Lancing we also teach:

  • personal, social, health and citizenship education (PSHCE)
  • modern foreign languages (French in Years 3 to Year 6)

Tests and assessments

Pupils are tested formally twice during Key Stage 1.  This are carried out in a low key manner and children very much enjoy working individually and in small groups alongside their class teacher.

Year 1 phonics screening check

The check will take place in June when your child will read 40 words out loud to a teacher. You’ll find out how your child did, and their teacher will assess whether he or she needs extra help with reading. If your child does not reach the expected standard in the check, they will retake it in Year 2.

Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 tests cover:

  • reading
  • maths (arithmetic and reasoning)

The tasks and tests are taken during May.  Your child’s teacher will use the child’s work (including spoken work and homework) to work out whether they are working at age related expectation (ARE).  Their test results form part of an overall teacher assessment grade.  These are recorded on your child’s school report at the end of Year 2.